USDA Borlaug Fellowship Program in India 2010

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) is pleased to announce the 2010 Norman E. Borlaug International Agricultural Science and Technology Fellowship Program (Borlaug Fellowship Program) for India.
The Borlaug Fellowship Program promotes food security and economic growth by increasing scientific knowledge and collaborative research to improve agricultural productivity. The Program offers training and collaborative opportunities in international agricultural economics, agricultural research, leadership and policy to Indian researchers.  Each Fellow will work one-on-one with a U.S. mentor who will coordinate the Fellow’s training and visit the Fellow's home institution after completion of the training.  The USDA will select U.S. host institutions and mentors for each Fellow.
The 2010 Borlaug Fellowship Program is administered by the United States Department of Agriculture, Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS).

Closing date :   The application deadline for the 2010 Borlaug Fellowship Program for India is May 7, 2010.


  • Provide entry-level agricultural economists, research scientists, faculty, and policymakers with one-on-one training opportunities in the fields of agricultural policy and research (see targeted research areas below);
  • Provide economists, scientists, faculty and policymakers with practical experience and exposure to novel perspectives and/or new technologies that can be applied upon completion of the program in their home institutions;
  • Foster increased collaboration and networking to improve agricultural productivity and trade;
  • Facilitate the transfer of new economic, scientific and agricultural technologies to strengthen agricultural practices;
  • Address obstacles to the adoption of technology such as ineffectual policies and regulations.

Number of training slots:

Eight (Seven in the area of biotechnology with specific reference to crop improvement and one in the area of Global Research Alliance fellowship in the area of climate change)

Targeted Research Areas:


Specific research topics within Biotechnology include:      Crop improvement

Length of Fellowships:

Fellowships are 8-12 weeks in length

Eligibility Requirements:

Candidates will be evaluated, interviewed and selected based on the following criteria:

  • Citizen of India;
  • Good working knowledge of the English language
  • Minimum Masters degree with three years practical experience or working towards Masters degree with five years experience;
  • Early stage of professional career;
  • Experience and focus in biotechnology for crop improvement;
  • Currently employed at a research institution with the intent to continue working in their home country for a minimum of two years following their return from the United States.

Application Requirements:

Eligible candidates are invited to submit the complete application including the following attachments not later than May 7, 2010

  • Application
  • Program proposal (2-3 pages)
  • Signed approval of the applicant's home institution
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • Official copy of transcript of college degrees
  • Copy of passport identification page
  • One passport sized photo

Application may be addressed to:

The Deputy Director General (Education)
ICAR, Krishi Anusandhan Bhavan-II, Pusa
New Delhi 110012

Tele (O):  011-25841760
 Fax:         011-25843932, 25848045
E-mail: ddgednaticar [dot] org [dot] in
Note:  USDA will conduct interviews for applicants who pass the initial screening during late May – early June. 

For questions relating to the application process please contact:
Agricultural Affairs Office
U.S. Embassy
Chanakyapuri, Shanti Path
New Delhi - 110 021, India
Attn: David Leishman, Agricultural Attaché
Email:  David [dot] Leishmanatfas [dot] usda [dot] gov or agnewdelhiatusda [dot] gov ( ) 
Telephone:  (011-91-11) 2419-8769 or 2419-8297 
For additional information about the Borlaug Fellowship Program, please contact:
The USDA/FAS Coordinators for the 2010 Borlaug Fellowship Program for India:

Catherine Chesnutt: Catherine [dot] Chesnuttatfas [dot] usda [dot] gov

Debbie Nip: Abiola [dot] Adeyemiatfas [dot] usda [dot] gov
Or visit our website: